Healthy & Paula Deen In The Same Sentence? Who Would Have Guessed…

Image

I’ve always considered cooking to be quite the art form.

It’s a perfect way to express one’s creativity, while at the same time, pleasing all five senses (sight, hearing, touch, smell and taste). Best of all, cooks come in all colors, shapes and sizes.

They say “never trust a thin chef”. However, that tired edict has been proven wrong time and time again.

As noted chef, author, and television personality Anthony Bourdain states in his book, “So You Wanna Be A Chef”:

“If you’re comforting yourself with the dictum “Never trust a thin chef,” don’t. Because no stupider thing has ever been said. Look at the crews of any really high-end restaurant and you’ll see a group of mostly whippet-thin, under-rested young pups with dark circles under their eyes: they look like escapees from a Japanese prison camp—and are expected to perform like the Green Berets.”

I mention this because I like to think of myself as somewhat of a chef even though I fall under the definition of thin (or healthy, however one likes to put it).

All kidding aside, though, I not only love to cook, but love to cook super-healthy food.

And no, I’m not talking about a Kale cleanse or something silly like that, but instead making meals that usually include the terms grilled, baked, lean protein, vegetables, greens and so on…

So when I stumbled upon this Paula Deen recipe over the weekend, I couldn’t believe my eyes.

Not only was it healthy, but it had a very strong Greek element to it (which I had been craving ever since devouring an Eggplant Parmesan Sub from Tuts the week prior).

Plus, it inspired the Greek-themed pasta salad that was included as the side dish in the meal (and, as if it was too good to be true, it did not include the normal ‘stick of butter’ Paula seems to include in every one of her dishes).

I guess healthy and Paula Deen do go in the same sentence after all. Who would have known?

As far as the meal was concerned, preparation was clean, easy and simple. Plus the Yogurt Sauce – a key part of bringing the whole recipe together – was to die for (and let me just say that won’t be the last time I use the Yogurt sauce. In fact, I may just make it every time I have anything that involves chicken. It’s that good).

The pitas turned out fantastic – the chicken marinade is quite excellent as well – plus the pasta salad was bursting with flavor and made for a perfect compliment to the pitas.

Hopefully we’ll see more of these types of recipes from Paula in the future. As this one was certainly deserving of a long round of applause.

Image

Leave a Reply

